National Disaster Response Force
Eight National Disaster Response Force (NDRF) Battalions have been drawn out of the paramilitary forces mentioned below.
  1. Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF)
  2. Border Security Force (BSF)
  3. Central Industrial Security Force (CISF)
  4. Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP)
The NDRF Battalions are strategically located at different disaster vulnerable areas of the country with the express aim of reaching disaster affected areas in the shortest possible time and mitigating the effects of the disaster with minimum loss of life and property.
      The National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA), Govt. of India, New Delhi which is the apex nodal agency for integrated management of natural and human induced disasters in the country, looks after the operational aspects of NDRF units. The two NDRF Battalions allocated to CISF are located at
  1. Mundali in Cuttack district in Orissa and
  2. Arakonam in Tamilnadu
      The aim of locating an NDRF Battalion at Mundali is to render timely assistance to the Govt. Orissa during times of natural disasters like flood and cyclone. The geographical area assigned to this Battalion extends along the entire coastline of Orissa upto Machhalipatnam in Andhra Pradesh.
      The NDRF Battalion at Mundali comprises of about 1158 personnel. The personnel have undergone specialized training in handling flood and cyclone related disasters. Various types of emergency equipment have been procured by the Battalion.
      The NDRF Battalion at Mundali had extended its support in flood relief and rescue operations 2007 and 2008. There is close coordination between the NDRF Battalion, Mundali and OSDMA for earliest possible mobilisation of NDRF men and material for disaster management. A joint mock drill was conducted at Naraj in Cuttack in the river Mahanadi taking the personnel of Orissa Disaster Rapid Action Force (ODRAF), National Disaster Response Force (NDRF), State Fire Service and State Port Organisation in June 2008 with a view to developing the skills and interagency coordination among the forces.

Each Battalion will comprise a strength of 1158 personnel. Rank wise break up of which is under :-

SL.No. Rank Strength
1. Sr. Commandant   1
2. Commandant 1
3. Dy Commandant 4
4. AC / Exe 7
5. AC / JAO 1
6. AC / MO 19
7. Inspector / Exe 30
8. Inspector/Min. 2
9. SI / Exe   75
10. SI / Eng. 36
11. SI / Comn. & RO 18
12. SI / Min. 4
13. SI / Steno 1
14. ASI / Clk 8
15. ASI / Exe -
16. HC / GD 191
17. HC / Paramedic / Tech. / Elec. 72
18. HC / Dvr. 32
19. Const. / Dvr 54
20. Const. / GD 525
21. ASI / Pharmacyst            -
22. Const. / NA -
23. Followers 77



State Coordinates

20.15° N 85.50° E

Date and Time

20-Aug-2019 09:23:56

Current Weather

Control Room

State EOC(BBSR) Toll Free Number - 1070

Other Phone Numbers -0674- 2395398, 2395531

Fax - 0674-2391871

Copyright @ 2017 . All Rights Reserved